COUNTY BOARD OF EQUALIZATION MEETING MINUTES

Courthouse, Clay Center, Nebraska, April 23, 2024, at 8:30 A.M.

The Clay County Board of Supervisors acting as the Board of Equalization met April 23, 2024, as per public notice given in the Clay County News on April 17, 2024, a copy of the proof of publication being on file in the County Clerk's Office. Availability of the agenda was communicated in the advance notice of the meeting. All of the proceedings hereafter shown were taken while the convened meeting was open to the attendance of the public.

Chairman L. Wayne Johnson stated that the open meeting law poster is posted on the west wall in the back of the room and presided with roll call showing the following present: Eric Samuelson, Glen Becker, Jim Pavelka, Ivan Fintel, Richard Shaw and L. Wayne Johnson; Absent: Scott Bitterman.

All present stood for the Pledge of Allegiance.

Motion by Fintel and seconded by Pavelka to approve the minutes of the meeting held March 19, 2024, as mailed. Upon roll call, the vote was as follows: Aye: Samuelson, Becker, Pavelka, Fintel, Shaw and Johnson; Nay: None. Motion carried.

Motion by Shaw and seconded by Becker to open the public hearing at 8:30 A.M. Upon roll call, the vote was as follows: Aye: Becker, Pavelka, Fintel, Shaw, Samuelson and Johnson; Nay: None. Motion carried.

Brenda Hansen, County Assessor, presented the permissive exemption application on Clay County Parcel #3904.

Motion by Pavelka and seconded by Fintel to close the public hearing at 8:40 A.M. Upon roll call, the vote was as follows: Aye: Pavelka, Fintel, Shaw, Samuelson, Becker and Johnson; Nay: None. Motion carried.

Motion by Shaw and seconded by Pavelka to deny the permissive exemption application on Parcel #3904. Upon roll call, the vote was as follows: Aye: Fintel, Shaw, Samuelson, Becker, Pavelka and Johnson; Nay: None. Motion carried.

Brenda presented Tax List Corrections #3060-3063. Motion by Shaw and seconded by Fintel to approve the Tax List Corrections #3060-3063 as presented. Upon roll call, the vote was as follows: Aye: Shaw, Samuelson, Becker, Pavelka, Fintel and Johnson; Nay: None. Motion carried.

Motion by Becker and seconded by Samuelson to adjourn this meeting at 8:57 A.M. Upon roll call, the vote was as follows: Aye: Samuelson, Becker, Pavelka, Fintel, Shaw and Johnson; Nay: None. Motion carried.

Cassie Aksamit, County Clerk

L. Wayne Johnson, Chairman